CKD Education

Litholink has partnered with the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) to bring you important information about chronic kidney disease (CKD). Below you will find helpful information directly from the National Kidney Foundation on CKD and what it means to you.

CKD and Your Kidneys

Your kidneys perform crucial functions that affect every part of your body.

What is Chronic Kidney Disease?

Chronic kidney disease is a condition where, for different reasons, there is damage to the kidney. This damage impacts how effectively the kidneys work to filter waste from the body and perform its other key functions.

What do your kidneys do?

  • Remove waste and fluids
  • Regulate body water and chemicals in your body such as sodium, potassium, phosphorus and calcium
  • Remove drugs and toxins from your body
  • Release hormones that:
    • regulate blood pressure
    • make red blood cells
    • promote strong bones

The 5 Stages of CKD

There are 5 stages of CKD (1-5). Each stage determined by how well your kidneys are functioning. Your doctor considers your stage when making your treatment plan.

What is GFR?

GFR (glomerular filtration rate) is the best test to measure your kidney function and determine your stage of kidney disease.  Using a simple blood test, your doctor is able to calculate an estimated GFR (eGFR).  It is an estimate of how well your kidney removes waste from your body.

What is proteinuria?

Proteinuria means that there is protein in your urine. When your kidneys are damaged, protein leaks into your urine. A simple test can be done to detect protein in your urine. Persistent protein in the urine is an early sign of chronic kidney disease (CKD).

Below in a chart, developed by the National Kidney Foundation, you can see how your doctor will determine what stage your CKD falls under: